bakingcraftingthinking

Just another WordPress.com site

Footie (soccer)

on July 1, 2006

I’m watching the england match, and although I don’t particularly like England (I know I know, very unpatriotic of me), I have to say that the Portugal team could very well give the Italians a run for their money in the new Olympic sport of diving one of you mentioned recently. And Cristiano Ronaldo would do well to move to Real Madrid next year, for his own health.

As to that red card, how exactly was Rooney supposed to see that there was a Portugese player lying on the ground behind him with his legs open in such a way that he could have his testicles stood on???? That should have been a yellow card maximum. (and how bad can it have been when the player came back on straight away after treatment – you men tell me whether you’d be back on the field after that sort of injury if it was actually bad enough to warrant a sending-off?!) and what’s with the pincer movement of two Portugese attacking an English player from both sides like that anyway?

Grrr. And I dislike Rooney intensely so normally I would have no trouble with a red card for him.

ETA: So now the ref just yellow-carded a Portuguese player for backing into an English player… which wasn’t deserved either in my view. What is with the man?

ETA: And a foul in the box = penalty in my experience, so why didn’t we get one there?!

Portugal so did not deserve to win. Their goalie is really good, but we played over half of that game with one man down and a ridiculously incompetent ref and they still only managed to win on penalties… And the worst thing is I can’t even say I hope Brazil wipes the floor with them because if there’s one team that’s worse than Portugal and Italy for cheating, it’s Brazil! (ah… just realised France has yet to play Brazil… in that case I hope France wipe the floor with Brazil and then with Portugal).

So all I can hope is that Cristiano Ronaldo gets red-carded really early in the next game. Also Nuno Valente who committed several fouls in a row (including one on Beckham which meant he had to be taken off, and the one mentioned above in the penalty box) and didn’t get booked for any of them!

I am so unimpressed it’s unreal – and I am the most unpatriotic person any of you can possibly know. (To the extent that I was actually hoping the Czech Republic would win the cup, until they went out, then Switzerland, until they went out; and I’d have been supporting Denmark if they’d got in in the first place). The only reason I care is because the refereeing was so abysmal and England played so bleeding well.

But none of this changes my general opinion on the England team, which is that Beckham’s a good skipper, Wayne Rooney needs to learn to control his temper, and they’re all overpaid and over-rated, generally speaking.

Leave a Reply

an irenicon

where faith meets culture

EntreFamily

Just another WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Glory to God for All Things

Orthodox Christianity, Culture and Religion, Making the Journey of Faith

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

chatting at the sky

a place for your soul to breathe

Simple Marriage

Small changes. Lasting relationships. Marriage & Family Therapy in McKinney, TX.

TheoPerspectives

Just another WordPress.com site

Split Frame of Reference

Just another WordPress.com site

Graftings

An adoptee finding family.

Richard Rohr: Unpacking Paradoxes

contemplation in action, as I try to live it...

Uncommon Childhood

Just another WordPress.com site

Mustard Seed Shavings

Just another WordPress.com site

Just another WordPress.com site

Stonesoup

Just another WordPress.com site

