bakingcraftingthinking

Just another WordPress.com site

A preach – you’re warned.

on January 24, 2007

And because I’m lovely, I’ll even put it behind a cut. 🙂
Warning: may contain religious nut.

This is my thoughts from a post someone else made recently.

Should homosexuality be declared not a sin because it’s genetic and so people can’t help it if they’re gay?

My thought is that we all have stuff that’s innate to us that we do and yet that’s counted as “sin” in the Bible. Some of us are prone to jealousy, for no apparent reason. It runs in the family. In my family we’re prone to holding grudges. Some people seem genetically predisposed to addiction (sex, drugs, alcohol, or other). But those things are still sin even if they are just part of my nature. God never said it was going to be easy to live his way (and crap is it hard!).

We make such a big deal out of homosexuality and sex before marriage, but there are many other things God hates just as much. Check out Galatians 5:19-21:
“The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.”

Why do we make a fuss about homosexuality but not about hatred? Or about selfish ambition? I bet every person reading this has put their own ambition before the good of someone else at some point. Myself included. I’ve definitely hated. And been envious. And been in angry arguments (discord). And let’s not start on idolatry – everyone idolises something other than God at some point. As for sexual immorality…
And then there’s rebellion. The Bible says rebellion is worse than witchcraft. Me refusing to do something I know God has told me to, or to abstain from something God has declared off-limits, that’s worse than witchcraft. But I do that almost every day. Definitely every week.
And I am aware those things are wrong! which is why I try not to do them, but somehow they must be in my blood, or something, because dammit I keep failing. As St. Paul writes:

“I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. … I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing.”

All this to say: I am as bad as anyone else on this earth, in God’s eyes. The gay lad I studied with (who is one of the sweetest people I know) is no worse than me. And the child rapist who is sitting in Wakefield prison with a life sentence is no worse either, in God’s eyes. Does God love gay people less? NO! He loves all of us! And he weeps because we won’t, or can’t, obey him, or even come near him in many cases, just like I weep when Froglet gets hurt because he touched something hot when I had told him many times not to. The only difference is that I am forgiven, because I asked for it, and God’s spirit is here to help me change. Do I still have temptations to do all the things I listed above? Yes. Do I sometimes give in? Yes. Being a Christian doesn’t make me any better. Just a lot more dependent on God’s help.

If anyone wants to look homosexuality up, the relevant verses according to my concordance are:
Romans 1: 24-32
1 Corinthians 6: 9-11 (“homosexual offenders” which could mean rapists, but I don’t speak Greek)
1 Timothy 1: 10 “perversion” (sex with frogs, or what?)
Jude verse 7 – cross reference with the story of Sodom and Gomorrah which is in Genesis somewhere.

I wish the church would cut the stuff about what the evil naughty gays are doing who don’t even claim to follow God (etc), and focus on ourselves. On what we’re doing wrong – yeah us, the ones who do claim to follow God. Are we loving each other and bearing each other’s burdens? I’m not, half the time. Strangely enough, Jesus hardly preached at all about how evil adulterous women were (and he didn’t even mention homosexuality). He preached a lot about taking the log out of your own eye, and keeping tabs on yourself, and making sure you love God more than anything, and about how knowing God is more desirable and priceless than anything else. And yet all people could ask him was who would be married to whom in heaven (!), and whether an adulterous woman should be stoned.

“Let he who has no sin cast the first stone.”

I’m not gay, so whether homosexuality is wrong or not doesn’t affect me directly. If God ever sends a homosexual to our church, claiming to love and follow Him, I think God is capable of also revealing to someone (me or others) whether anything needs to be said to that person about his/her lifestyle, or not. In the meantime, I’ve got a shortlist of at least ten sins that need dealing with in my life. That should keep me busy for a few years.

Leave a Reply

an irenicon

where faith meets culture

EntreFamily

Just another WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Glory to God for All Things

Orthodox Christianity, Culture and Religion, Making the Journey of Faith

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

chatting at the sky

a place for your soul to breathe

Simple Marriage

Small changes. Lasting relationships. Marriage & Family Therapy in McKinney, TX.

TheoPerspectives

Just another WordPress.com site

Split Frame of Reference

Just another WordPress.com site

Graftings

An adoptee finding family.

Richard Rohr: Unpacking Paradoxes

contemplation in action, as I try to live it...

Uncommon Childhood

Just another WordPress.com site

Mustard Seed Shavings

Just another WordPress.com site

Just another WordPress.com site

Stonesoup

Just another WordPress.com site

