bakingcraftingthinking

Just another WordPress.com site

Driving and umbridge

on July 19, 2007

I got told off for not saying owt about Umbridge in my last post, so… I thought Imelda Staunton was brilliant. Perfectly evil. But I also thought that she should have been uglier, because Harry thinks Umbridge looks like a toad before he actually has any reason to resent her, it’s his first impression – whereas film!Umbridge looks like a perfectly charming lady until she does something nasty.

Anyway. On to the main event of my life at the mo’: driving lessons. I’ve had six so far (3 doubles) and I love it! Which is weird. I always thought I’d hate driving. So far the only thing I dislike is having to slow down and look carefully before turning onto another road if I don’t have priority. Of course I always look anyway but at least if I have priority it’s not quite so panic-inducing. Ok, this is mainly because I’m not very good at quick starts yet, so I guess it will be better soon. Oh I also dislike overtaking. But I love changing gear. 🙂

We are going away for the weekend tomorrow morning, to Como in Italy. My sister speaks good Italian and can interpret for us if necessary, and The Engineer has never been to Italy so this will be another box ticked. I’ve been to Italy loads of times and am feeling a bit meh about it because it’ll be hot and the baby will be there and it’s money and time I could be spending on driving lessons. But anway – at least if I’m not expecting much, I can’t be disappointed when we get there.

P.S. did you see Bloomsbury have said they have no reason to believe any of the HP leaks so far are accurate? But I still don’t want to be spoiled just in case.

Leave a Reply

an irenicon

where faith meets culture

EntreFamily

Just another WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Glory to God for All Things

Orthodox Christianity, Culture and Religion, Making the Journey of Faith

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

chatting at the sky

a place for your soul to breathe

Simple Marriage

Small changes. Lasting relationships. Marriage & Family Therapy in McKinney, TX.

TheoPerspectives

Just another WordPress.com site

Split Frame of Reference

Just another WordPress.com site

Graftings

An adoptee finding family.

Richard Rohr: Unpacking Paradoxes

contemplation in action, as I try to live it...

Uncommon Childhood

Just another WordPress.com site

Steve Tilley's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Just another WordPress.com site

Stonesoup

Just another WordPress.com site

