bakingcraftingthinking

Just another WordPress.com site

Introductory post

on April 20, 2009

Well, it’s the start of Turn off the TV Week. I’m not a big TV fan anyway – I much prefer the internet, which at least has some semblance of interaction with real people – but the rest of the family are, and so ours is firmly off. The internet is going to be used less this week too. Probably.

But now seemed like a good time to start a blog about what a stay-at-home mum does with her kids while she’s trying to keep the TV off. Yes another one, I know there are lots out there. It’s also an opportunity for my non-live-journal friends and family, scattered around the world, to keep up with us. And finally it’s a place for me to work through some of my thoughts about teaching my son to read, potty training my daughter, trying to keep the house nice-ish, and living abroad in a shopless village, in a second floor apartment with no garden. (It’s a nice apartment, mind. Just lacking in garden.)

So who are we?

Froglet is three and a half and very energetic. Like most small boys, he loves Lego, sand, cars, planes, and all other vehicles. Perhaps unlike other boys, he wants ten more siblings (not going to happen!). Clearly he hasn’t been put off by two-month old baby sister Nutmeg.
Doing his fair share of the nappy changing and burping isDad, a.k.a. The Engineer, who doesn’t do blogging, but is a fantastic father and husband.
And Little Nut Tree? That’s me, Mummy. The name comes from the nursery rhyme, as you may have guessed. I love children’s books and rhymes, languages, paper crafts and baking. This should make me an ideal expat mum. However, I dislike cleaning, tidying, teaching and having to say the same thing over and over again. And I’m impatient, and lazy – a recent realisation. And I suffer from perfectionism, of the “if I can’t do it right I don’t want to do it at all” variety. I also have a problem with starting things but not finishing them. There must be a name for this. Except with baking, but then it’s hard to start a batch of cookies or bread and not finish it really.

So as you can see, a lot of things to work on or work through. Well, best get off and do some of it. As usual, the house is a mess.

2 responses to “Introductory post

  1. geezer-also says:

    Did I read that right…you are potty training your 2 month old?

  2. yup. 🙂 not very seriously though.

Leave a Reply

an irenicon

where faith meets culture

EntreFamily

Just another WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Glory to God for All Things

Orthodox Christianity, Culture and Religion, Making the Journey of Faith

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

chatting at the sky

a place for your soul to breathe

Simple Marriage

Small changes. Lasting relationships. Marriage & Family Therapy in McKinney, TX.

TheoPerspectives

Just another WordPress.com site

Split Frame of Reference

Just another WordPress.com site

Graftings

An adoptee finding family.

Richard Rohr: Unpacking Paradoxes

contemplation in action, as I try to live it...

Uncommon Childhood

Just another WordPress.com site

Steve Tilley's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Just another WordPress.com site

Stonesoup

Just another WordPress.com site

