bakingcraftingthinking

Just another WordPress.com site

Turnoff week

on April 28, 2009

I thought I’d do the Blog challenge from over at Unplug Your Kids, even though I didn’t sign up to do it. There was a prize draw, but a voucher from Amazon US isn’t so useful to me anyway. 🙂

So, how did it go? Surprisingly well, I think. Although I grew up sans TV, my husband didn’t and Froglet isn’t doing so either; he watches at least some TV every day.

Nutmeg is too small for both TV and internet, so she did very well this week. 10/10 for her!

Froglet asked for TV a couple of times towards the beginning of the week, but we explained that this was a no-TV week just like the Berenstain Bears had – fortunately we’ve just read the book – and he didn’t push too hard. Yesterday he happily announced “Yay, today is a TV day!” but in fact he only had two episodes of Pocoyo, which is way below his age range but he still likes watching (I only ever put it on for Nutmeg to listen to). I think we put on some Thomas the Tank Engine for him on Sunday too to keep him out of our hair while we dealt with dinner. We also successfully kept him off the computer and the Wii, apart from WiiFit but we decided that was not going to count because it’s exercise. So he gets about 8/10.

The grown-ups did less well. We did keep the TV off, and I certainly enjoyed the evenings more as a result, but the Internet stayed on. In our defence, I work from home so need to check my email at least twice a day, and of course once the computer is on it’s a matter of self-discipline not to check the blogs I follow, Facebook and so on. The self-discipline could use a little work there! Nonetheless, I was online less than usual and spent more time cleaning and playing with Froglet, so I get 6/10 – that’s 5 for no-TV and 1 for less-computer!
I won’t give The Engineer points. He never did like school!

(I have decided to call my husband The Engineer on here. It’s a bit long, but accurate, and I haven’t thought of anything better yet – suggestions welcome!)

One response to “Turnoff week

  1. yoongz says:

    im sooo proud of all of you – WELL DONE!
    it would never have worked in our house – we are such film & tv buffs & of cos with both our work we have to check emails at least once a day if not more.
    Suggestions for husband?? hmmm… i bet he would love to be called Handsome? The Man? … i will have to ask my hubby what he thinks – let u know in a couple of days 😉

Leave a Reply

an irenicon

where faith meets culture

EntreFamily

Just another WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Glory to God for All Things

Orthodox Christianity, Culture and Religion, Making the Journey of Faith

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

chatting at the sky

a place for your soul to breathe

Simple Marriage

Small changes. Lasting relationships. Marriage & Family Therapy in McKinney, TX.

TheoPerspectives

Just another WordPress.com site

Split Frame of Reference

Just another WordPress.com site

Graftings

An adoptee finding family.

Richard Rohr: Unpacking Paradoxes

contemplation in action, as I try to live it...

Uncommon Childhood

Just another WordPress.com site

Mustard Seed Shavings

Just another WordPress.com site

Just another WordPress.com site

Stonesoup

Just another WordPress.com site

