bakingcraftingthinking

Just another WordPress.com site

Indoors in the garden

on June 10, 2009

I have pruned the Easter cactus and potted the cuttings. Although I can’t tell if they are taking, the original cactus has rewarded me with several new bright green baby leaves. The avocado is growing quite slowly, while three of my kumquat seeds and one of the pears have turned into little seedlings just as I was about to give up on them. I also have an unknown seedling in my tray. Perhaps a tomato? I did put some seeds in but didn’t expect them to grow as I didn’t let the pulp go mouldy first. It can’t be a weed because we’re indoors!
(The above paragraph is the result of my tendency to start writing a post and then save it for posting later in the week! We now know that the mystery plant is a tomato, as I said in my previous-but-more-recently-written post, and that there is a new, very tiny, mystery plant).

The mango has produced a shoot… or possibly a root… hard to tell as it’s mostly red. I took the thick husk of the pit off, and wrapped the pit in a wet paper towel before putting it in an open plastic bag to keep it warm and moist. In no time it had developed this shoot, which is curly because I put it back the wrong way up and so it curled around to face the right way. I stupidly forgot to take a picture of it before planting. Hopefully it will emerge from the soil soon, I hear they’re very pretty.

4 responses to “Indoors in the garden

  1. Ana from far away! says:

    It seems that you have a lot of tropical fruits there!

  2. Dee says:

    Thanks for stopping by!!!!!

  3. Kiki says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog. The pix are of Bora Bora. It is my dream place. You must be quite the gardener. I do not have a green thumb. My hubby doesn't like to buy things to plant b/c I end up killing everything. I'm getting better, but I guess I have a “brown” thumb. We purchased our son a sunflower pot to plant. I hope it survives and I will update my blog with pictures as it grows. Take care.
    -Kiki

  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog and for the lovely compliment on the name 🙂 Love and Kisses back to you from a fellow SITS-sta! BTW, I love your Muffin Tin Mondays!

Leave a Reply

an irenicon

where faith meets culture

EntreFamily

Just another WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Glory to God for All Things

Orthodox Christianity, Culture and Religion, Making the Journey of Faith

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

chatting at the sky

a place for your soul to breathe

Simple Marriage

Small changes. Lasting relationships. Marriage & Family Therapy in McKinney, TX.

TheoPerspectives

Just another WordPress.com site

Split Frame of Reference

Just another WordPress.com site

Graftings

An adoptee finding family.

Richard Rohr: Unpacking Paradoxes

contemplation in action, as I try to live it...

Uncommon Childhood

Just another WordPress.com site

Steve Tilley's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Just another WordPress.com site

Stonesoup

Just another WordPress.com site

