bakingcraftingthinking

Just another WordPress.com site

Rule Britannia! It’s Muffin Tin Monday.

on June 29, 2009
The title of our Muffin Tin this week is very much tongue-in-cheek. although it has just occurred to me that it might offend someone. I hope not. Almost all Brits nowadays are incredibly lacking in patriotism, except when it comes to sports, and I am probably one of the least patriotic among them – without outright hating my country and fomenting revolution, obviously. But as this weeks theme is 4th of July/patriotism, and as I’m not American in the slightest, I started out planning a tin with all British foods in it. Then the song Rule Britannia came into my head* , and here is the result:

Butterscotch Angel Delight, Hovis crackers, Fig Roll, Cadbury’s Creme Egg,
English Cheddar crowns, lemon jelly cube (jello).
New Zealand apple ship in the middle.

Rule Britannia, Britannia rules the waves…
No, he’s not really singing that.
He’s actually saying something about cheese and crackers in a funny voice.

*I blame the excellently funny if grossly inaccurate Miss Marple films we’ve just finished watching, in which Miss Marple is portrayed by Margaret Rutherford. The song comes up in one of them, Murder Ahoy.

11 responses to “Rule Britannia! It’s Muffin Tin Monday.

  1. Amanda says:

    too cute! mmmmm cadbury eggs!

  2. LOVING that apple ship! Well done and thanks for participating!

  3. Julie says:

    Very creative take on the theme this week! I like the cheese crowns. 🙂

  4. Bran says:

    I do love your creativity this week. That tin does look yummy!

  5. Valerie says:

    I live for Cadbury chocolates! (okay and for other things too, but man I LOVE Cadbury)!

    I love your take on your tin 🙂

  6. Love the cute apple ship and the butterscotch delight looks yummy! Yes, we do call them sparklers:-), my kids love them–the real ones and the pretzel rods:-)!

  7. Your butterscotch angel delight looks so good! I love the ship and the ginger beer too. 🙂 Great tin!

    Val

  8. Michelle says:

    Very cute…I lovet he Cadbury Egg!!

  9. mesandra says:

    Oh the apple ship!! 😉

  10. Nicki says:

    I'm going to use that apple ship for Columbus day!

Leave a Reply

an irenicon

where faith meets culture

EntreFamily

Just another WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Glory to God for All Things

Orthodox Christianity, Culture and Religion, Making the Journey of Faith

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

chatting at the sky

a place for your soul to breathe

Simple Marriage

Small changes. Lasting relationships. Marriage & Family Therapy in McKinney, TX.

TheoPerspectives

Just another WordPress.com site

Split Frame of Reference

Just another WordPress.com site

Graftings

An adoptee finding family.

Richard Rohr: Unpacking Paradoxes

contemplation in action, as I try to live it...

Uncommon Childhood

Just another WordPress.com site

Mustard Seed Shavings

Just another WordPress.com site

Just another WordPress.com site

Stonesoup

Just another WordPress.com site

