bakingcraftingthinking

Just another WordPress.com site

Sensory Muffin Tin Monday

on July 6, 2009

Today there was no theme suggested over at Her Cup Overfloweth, so I decided to do a sensory tin. I was inspired by ABCand123 who have been asking for contributions for the Five Senses – and now I’ve logged on I see that they’re actually doing that theme today. So hop over there for more sensory activities!

The tin itself is very close to the Monkey Bites we did as a copycat tin a few weeks ago, because those went down so well. I just added a couple of things with strong smells or specific feels. And this time I blindfolded Froglet and made him guess using the other four senses. At the end I took the blindfold off and let him tell me what he could see too.

The one you can’t see is instant coffee powder. We also had banana pieces.

I did all four senses for each tin before passing on to the next one, which worked ok but I think next time I would have him smell all the tins in turn, then listen to them all in turn etc, because once he’d got in his mind that a tin sounded like x, he would keep guessing x if unsure, rather than reverting to I don’t know or thinking of something else.

As you can see, there was nothing there that he guessed first by touch, although if we had done them in a different order I think he would have got raisins and water. Next time I would do touch before smell – I intended to this time but accidentally started writing smell first!
Froglet hadn’t the faintest idea what the coffee was – when looking at it, he actually guessed brown sugar after I’d written down “don’t know” – and that’s because we don’t drink coffee. We only have it in for guests. So no, I didn’t make him drink it.

Check out HCO (link above) to see what the other creative mums have done this week.

9 responses to “Sensory Muffin Tin Monday

  1. Bran says:

    What a Wonderful idea!!

  2. This is such a fun and educational idea!! I will be copying this one soon for our MTT–I'll make sure and link back to you for all the credit:-).

    LOVE this, thanks for sharing!

  3. Annette W. says:

    This is agreat idea! I came from ABC and 123.

  4. Julie says:

    That is a good idea! I don't think my little guy would know coffee, either. We love our tea around our house lol.

  5. What a great idea! I did something similar when we did the theme – “foods you can eat with a straw” but it was only taste!

    Great jon and thanks for joining us!

  6. MamaGames says:

    I love this idea! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  7. Great idea! Happy MTM 🙂

  8. Tammy says:

    Fantastic idea!

  9. Diva Mamma says:

    What a great idea! I'll have to remember that. TFS!

Leave a Reply

an irenicon

where faith meets culture

EntreFamily

Just another WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Glory to God for All Things

Orthodox Christianity, Culture and Religion, Making the Journey of Faith

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

chatting at the sky

a place for your soul to breathe

Simple Marriage

Small changes. Lasting relationships. Marriage & Family Therapy in McKinney, TX.

TheoPerspectives

Just another WordPress.com site

Split Frame of Reference

Just another WordPress.com site

Graftings

An adoptee finding family.

Richard Rohr: Unpacking Paradoxes

contemplation in action, as I try to live it...

Uncommon Childhood

Just another WordPress.com site

Steve Tilley's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Just another WordPress.com site

Stonesoup

Just another WordPress.com site

