bakingcraftingthinking

Just another WordPress.com site

Open Ended Art: Tissue paper

on July 16, 2009

This time I actually found open ended art rather stressful. Yesterday we did tissue paper. When we talked about it the previous night Froglet seemed to have some very clear ideas about what he was going to do and what he would need to do it, so today I just asked him to tell me what he needed and I would put it out. He chose three colours of tissue paper, white glue, water, paintbrushes and green glitter. (Yesterday he mentioned toilet rolls but as he didn’t reiterate it today I didn’t bother reminding him).

Then we sat down and I watched while he gave a running commentary on what he was doing.

Look, it makes the glue red! Maybe the flies will come and watch me do it. They will enjoy doing that with their mummies and daddies… Look the glue goes all watery and runny! I’m going to stick some of this T-shirt paper on.

After the initial discovery that painting with water on the red paper made the paper under it go red too, but that it didn’t work with the pink paper, he stopped being very interested in the tissue, and mainly wanted to paint glue and water onto the page and add glitter to it. The picture below is meant to show how the glitter was actually floating about on the water!

I’m getting water on the sparkles so they will go fizzy like that volcano. I don’t like them floating. I will put some glue in the water.

Eventually I got tired of this and stopped watching – it stresses me out thinking that he will ultimately make a hole in the page through wetting it over and over, and then he will get really upset and frustrated and refuse to do anything else for the rest of the day. I don’t like it when that sort of thing happens, it leaves both of us with a bad feeling about crafts. And it frustrates me in advance knowing it’s likely to happen.

However, it didn’t happen – perhaps because he didn’t carry on for very much longer once I had stopped watching! This is the final product. More glitter than tissue paper, but never mind. I’ll do a different tissue paper craft with him later in the week – maybe fabric dying, then he can do whatever he likes with it and I can cut it up to do something with later.

This all goes to show that I am not very good at being hands-off! Something to work on – I blame my personality type. 😉

Check out what everyone else has done with their tissue paper here.

7 responses to “Open Ended Art: Tissue paper

  1. It turned out pretty! 🙂 sorry it was stressful next week is Yellow and Paint so maybe that will go better!

  2. Well, at least it was very self-directed, and your son had fun. Maybe it was more of a chemistry experiment to him than art – then it was great success 🙂

  3. JennyMac says:

    Visiting SITSta…and always looking for great ideas for projects with our munchkin. And it looks great.

  4. Stopping by from SITS to say HI

    Glue! I always love to watch children with glue. LOL

  5. LitLass says:

    I think it still turned out great.

    And here is the answer to your question about my titles: http://motherisnotconcerned.blogspot.com/2009/03/biggest-legume-ran-to-bony-tummy.html

  6. You have a very creative little one who thinks outside the box–LOVE IT!!

  7. Michelle says:

    I love his play by commentary – so cute! You did a great job letting this be about him, too! It can be hard, I know!

Leave a Reply

an irenicon

where faith meets culture

EntreFamily

Just another WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Glory to God for All Things

Orthodox Christianity, Culture and Religion, Making the Journey of Faith

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

chatting at the sky

a place for your soul to breathe

Simple Marriage

Small changes. Lasting relationships. Marriage & Family Therapy in McKinney, TX.

TheoPerspectives

Just another WordPress.com site

Split Frame of Reference

Just another WordPress.com site

Graftings

An adoptee finding family.

Richard Rohr: Unpacking Paradoxes

contemplation in action, as I try to live it...

Uncommon Childhood

Just another WordPress.com site

Mustard Seed Shavings

Just another WordPress.com site

Just another WordPress.com site

Stonesoup

Just another WordPress.com site

