bakingcraftingthinking

Just another WordPress.com site

MTM – weather!

on July 27, 2009
We’ve had a lot of hot weather and thunderstorms recently, including the largest hailstones we have ever had, I think. (nothing like what you get in America of course, but still the size of large marbles).

So here is our tin – I think these ideas were my own but I’ve seen so many other tins that maybe I have been inspired elsewhere and forgotten it. If you’ve done a weather tin let me know and I’ll link to you! and don’t forget to click here to see what everyone else did this week.

Pickled onion hailstones, yellow nasturtium-sun in blue banana-yoghurt sky, bread and marmite thunderclouds and yellow pepper lightning, white bread/cheese/marmite cumulus cloud. Served on upside down lasagna tray for thunder noise!

Froglet absolutely loved playing with this meal.

Look Mummy, the thunderclouds have arrived…
*bangs them together while making thundery growling noises*
I’m going to dip it in here to make blue thunderclouds. Why are you writing down what I said? … what’s a blog?

The great thing about pickled onion hailstones is they accurately portray what a hailstone looks like inside as well as outside! Marmite is British yeast extract (Aussies and Kiwis also have it but theirs is slightly different).

We can take the flag out later and stick it in the muddy ground where the plants are growing.
*When asked what for:* For fun! And to show that it’s windy.
The hailstones are dropping out of the thunderclouds…
bang! It went in the sun!… bang! It went in the blue sky!

We were meant to have snow too, but I hadn’t had chance to make it so we had it as a snack later instead:

Chocolate and coconut snowman, strawberries hidden under cream snowclouds.

Look Mummy, I made an eye and a nose for the snowman.
16 responses to “MTM – weather!

  1. This is SUPER! I love your creativity with this theme and all you made! LOVE IT!!

    Make sure and stop by my blog too–I gave you an award. You can pick it up here:

    http://ourhomeschoolfun.blogspot.com/2009/07/you-guys-are-great-thank-you.html

  2. OK, sorry!! I just checked my comments and emails and see that you already picked up your award–good! You deserve it. I love your blog too! Thank you for always having such kind words and thoughts, I look forward to reading them!

  3. Bran says:

    That is SO CUTE!!!

  4. This is GREAT! I love the thunderclouds… what a wonderful idea!

    I don't know about anyone else in America, but we don't get anything bigger than a pea for the most part when it comes to hail. I think your storm sounds pretty spectacular! Stay safe and dry!

    Val

  5. Christy says:

    What a great idea!

  6. Nadia says:

    great job! it all looks so appetizing 🙂

  7. Too incredible! Excellent job! I may have to try an educational theme here, too!

  8. mommy4life says:

    I LOVE this! Thanks for sharing! Thanks for stopping by on my SITS day too!

  9. Dadaluff says:

    Wow! You are so creative! I love your yellow pepper lightning on the bread and marmite thunderstorm… and chocolate/coconut snowman looks really cool!

  10. SUCH A GREAT JOB! I absolutely love your theme!!!! I am having a hard time choosing my favorite!

    and the part where your son says “mommy why are you writing down what I said…what's a blog?”

    on occasion, I have gotten “why are you always taking pictures of what we eat?”

  11. Dreamgirl says:

    What a creative mom you are! Very impressed!

    Just stopping by from SITS. Hope your day will be fabulous!

    P.S. I'm giving away a subscription to House Beautiful. Interested?
    http://www.sweeterliving.blogspot.com

  12. Yummy Mammy says:

    I now want cake. And it's only 10.30am xx

  13. this looks like fun and yummy in the same time! how cool is that?!
    Coming here to visit from SITS and liked your blog!
    Happy Wednesday!

  14. What a fun Mommy! I love it!

  15. Popped in from SITS to say hi!

  16. Erin Bassett says:

    VERY creative!!! -And yummy too!

    Just stopping by from SITS. 😀

    http://erinbassett.typepad.com

Leave a Reply

an irenicon

where faith meets culture

EntreFamily

Just another WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Glory to God for All Things

Orthodox Christianity, Culture and Religion, Making the Journey of Faith

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

chatting at the sky

a place for your soul to breathe

Simple Marriage

Small changes. Lasting relationships. Marriage & Family Therapy in McKinney, TX.

TheoPerspectives

Just another WordPress.com site

Split Frame of Reference

Just another WordPress.com site

Graftings

An adoptee finding family.

Richard Rohr: Unpacking Paradoxes

contemplation in action, as I try to live it...

Uncommon Childhood

Just another WordPress.com site

Steve Tilley's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Just another WordPress.com site

Stonesoup

Just another WordPress.com site

