bakingcraftingthinking

Just another WordPress.com site

I’m FLYing. Or will be, soon.

on August 18, 2009

The house is overwhelming me. I had considered showing you all a picture of what the living room looked like Monday morning when we got home. But I figured you’ve all seen footage of earthquake zones before.

It shouldn’t overwhelm me, because it’s not such a big place, at least not by American standards. We have three bedrooms, a living/dining room, a kitchen, bathroom and shower room. And the balcony – no garden or stairwell as it’s an apartment.

But nonetheless, it does overwhelm me. I don’t know how other people manage to raise children and clean at the same time. (I understand still less how anyone enjoys cleaning!) At the moment, the house is in such a state that I barely know where to start. So I have turned back to FLYlady, in the hope of getting a routine set up.

Flylady says: You can do anything for fifteen minutes.
Flylady also says: It didn’t get like this in a day, so it won’t get sorted out in a day either.
And finally Flylady says: Are you living in CHAOS? (Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome)

No, no I’m not. Actually I’m living in COBYHTTUAYFUS.
(That’s: Come Over But You’ll Have To Take Us As You Find Us Syndrome. I know, it’s not so easy to pronounce as CHAOS).

But I would quite like to be able to feel that things are always nearly company-ready. So let’s see if this works.

4 responses to “I’m FLYing. Or will be, soon.

  1. Some people have “the” gift for keeping a perfect house. I don't have “the” gift! However, I've learned to not think less of my self because God gave me gifts in other areas. I stress out a lot less now!

  2. yoongz says:

    Don't stress out – a house is to be made a home – i find if i spend too long making it nice & clean, i get terribly upset when Tobias/Hubby messes it up, even a little & really it's not such a big deal – a friend once very wisely said, “A house which is too clean & tidy feels too precious to be lived in properly, too cold & separated – some mess needs to be there for it to feel like home.”
    i completely agree 😉

  3. I feel your pain. I hate cleaning too, but of course it's not a good thing to be living in Chaos..so it must be done. sigh. Hope you enjoy it more than I do! =)

    p.s. I dont have your address for hte bear yet. Can you please send it to kalimantan_gal@hotmail.com
    Thanks! =)

  4. Christy says:

    FlyLady worked for me for a little while but the novelty wore off and I'm right back to where I was. A big part of my problem is that we just have too much stuff. I'm trying to declutter. ugh.

Leave a Reply

an irenicon

where faith meets culture

EntreFamily

Just another WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Glory to God for All Things

Orthodox Christianity, Culture and Religion, Making the Journey of Faith

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

chatting at the sky

a place for your soul to breathe

Simple Marriage

Small changes. Lasting relationships. Marriage & Family Therapy in McKinney, TX.

TheoPerspectives

Just another WordPress.com site

Split Frame of Reference

Just another WordPress.com site

Graftings

An adoptee finding family.

Richard Rohr: Unpacking Paradoxes

contemplation in action, as I try to live it...

Uncommon Childhood

Just another WordPress.com site

Steve Tilley's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Just another WordPress.com site

Stonesoup

Just another WordPress.com site

